Six U of T faculty members — including four from A&S — named to Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

September 7, 2023 by U of T News

Six faculty members at the University of Toronto — renowned for their pathbreaking leadership in a wide range of disciplines — have been appointed to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

“From scientific advances in astrophysics, atmospheric physics and social psychology to timely leadership in climate governance, computer security and privacy, and sexually transmitted infection prevention, these scholars and scientists are making an impact on issues that affect the lives of people across Canada and around the world,” says Leah Cowen, U of T’s vice-president, research and innovation, and strategic initiatives.

“The University of Toronto congratulates them on this significant recognition.” 

The new college members are: 

Each faculty member receives a seven-year membership in the college, which recognizes and supports academic leadership and collaboration among those who have received their PhDs within the last 15 years.