Academic Units

The Faculty of Arts & Science is Canada’s largest and most research-intensive undergraduate and graduate enterprise, a vibrant intellectual community of students and scholars who are deeply committed to excellence, discovery and diversity.

The Faculty comprises 29 departments, seven colleges and 49 interdisciplinary centres, schools and institutes, which not only provide academic offerings, but also a thriving community outside the classroom. This breadth allows us to develop new synergies, to address novel research opportunities and student interest in areas that cut across the sectors.

More than 300 undergraduate and 70 graduate programs are offered across the humanities, social sciences and sciences.



Centres, Institutes & Schools


College Programs

Innis College
Urban Studies
Writing & Rhetoric

New College
Buddhism, Psychology & Mental Health
Critical Studies in Equity and Solidarity

St. Michael's College
Book & Media Studies
Celtic Studies
Christianity & Culture
Mediaeval Studies

Trinity College
Ethics, Society & Law
International Relations

University College
Canadian Studies
Cognitive Science
Health Studies

Victoria College
Creativity & Society
Education & Society
Literature & Critical Theory
Material Culture & Semiotics
Renaissance Studies
Science, Technology & Society

Woodsworth College
Digital Humanities


Free-Standing, Joint and Collaborative Programs

Faculty of Music
Music with Ensemble Option
Music History & Culture

Free-Standing Program
Human Biology Program

John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
Forest Biomaterials Science
Forest Conservation
Forest Conservation Science

Joint Program with Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
Rotman Commerce