2018 Superior Teaching Award Winners

April 24, 2018 by Christine Elias - A&S News

The Superior Teaching Awards recognize some of the Faculty of Arts & Science’s most exceptional sessional lecturers and graduate student course instructors for their contributions to undergraduate education. David Cameron, dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science, presented the  awards on April 19.

This year’s recipients are:

Steven Coyne, Philosophy
Graduate Student Course Instructor

Steven Coyne – who was nominated for his exemplary work teaching Issues in Philosophy of Law – is described by students as a caring and welcoming instructor who fosters peer-to-peer discussion and feedback in the classroom. In the words of one student: “Steven created an engaging learning environment, incorporating in-class discussions and group activities.” Another added: “I will never forget the course I took with Steven Coyne – it was the most enjoyable class in my four years at U of T.”

Spyridon Kotsovilis, Political Science
Sessional Instructor

“Phenomenal, engaging, innovative and approachable” — are words often used to describe Spyridon Kotsovilis. Kotsovilis — who began teaching in the department in 2014 — is highly regarded for delivering his lectures with clarity and impressive complexity, never sacrificing nuance as he delivers key material. His course evaluations each year are bursting with comments about how deeply he engages students. Just one example from the student comments: “Not only did Dr. Kotsovilis demonstrate a profound understanding of the material being discussed, but his clear enthusiasm for the material was contagious.”