2022 A&S Outstanding Achievement Awards

May 12, 2022 by A&S News

Outstanding Teaching Award Winners

The Faculty of Arts & Science Outstanding Teaching Awards recognize teaching excellence in undergraduate and graduate education with a focus on classroom instruction and course design and/or curriculum development. Congratulations to this year's recipients:

  • Robert C. Austin — Centre for European, Russian & Eurasian Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy
  • Robert Gazzale — Department of Economics
  • Jason Harlow — Department of Physics
  • Hang-Sun Kim — Department of Germanic Languages & Literatures
  • Kate Neville — Department of Political Science and School of the Environment

Online Learning Academy Fellowship

  • Krista Maxwell — Department of Anthropology

Read more: 2022 Teaching Award Winners

Superior Teaching Award Winners

The  A&S Superior Teaching Awards recognize some of the Faculty of Arts & Science’s most exceptional sessional lecturers and graduate student course instructors for their contributions to undergraduate education. Congratulations to this year's recipients:

Sessional Lecturers

  • Murat Umut Inan — Department of History
  • Jessica Whitehead — Department of Italian Studies and Cinema Studies Institute

Graduate Course Instructor

  • Danyse Golick — Department of English
  • Courtneay Hopper — Department  of Anthropology and School of the Environment

Read more: 2022 Superior Teaching Award Winners

Outstanding Staff Award Winners

Four staff members from the Faculty of Arts & Science are this year’s recipients of the Outstanding Staff Awards. Established in 1999, the awards recognize employees who have achieved excellence in support of the Faculty’s mission of teaching and research. Congratulations to this year's recipients:

Student Life Award

  • Ben Weststrate — Innis College
  • Sarah Lee — Department of Statistical Sciences

Technical Service Award

  • Tatjana Vasic — Department of Cell & Systems Biology

Administrative Service Award    

  • Katrina Mintis — Department of Statistical Sciences
  • Pavi Chandrasegaram — Department of Computer Science

Distinguished Long Service Award    

  • April Seeley — Department of Physics
  • Brenda Registe — New College
  • David Powell — School of the Environment

Read more: 2022 Outstanding Staff Award Winners