> Home About

About A&S

The Faculty of Arts & Science — U of T's Most Diverse Division

The Faculty of Arts & Science is a vibrant intellectual community of students and scholars who are deeply committed to excellence, discovery and diversity. Arts & Science represents over half the student population on the downtown Toronto (St. George) campus. We are home to 925 of the world’s top scholars and our Faculty is the largest in Canada and among the most comprehensive in North America.

Quick Facts

  • Students
    • Students in the Faculty come from over 140 different countries around the world
    • Average entering grade is 87 per cent
    • Many of the more than 47 U of T Rhodes Scholars over the past 40 years have been Arts & Science students
    • 23,702 full-time undergraduates
    • 3,081 part-time undergraduates
    • 3,953 graduate students
    • Arts & Science students can take advantage of opportunities to study abroad at 40 different countries around the world including Argentina, Australia, Belgium, China, Denmark, England, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Republic of Uganda, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad & Tobago, United States and Vietnam.
  • Faculty & Staff
    • 925 faculty
    • 705 administrative and technical staff
    • 260 sessional lecturers
    • 2,485 teaching assistants, course instructors and postdoctoral fellows
  • Alumni
    • 193,559 active alumni in more than 160 countries
    • Notable alumni include:
      • Award-winning authors: Margaret Atwood, Joy Fielding, Michael Ondaatje, Rohinton Mistry, Farley Mowat and Stephen Leacock
      • Renowned film directors: David Cronenberg, Atom Egoyan, Arthur Hiller, Norman Jewison and Shelley Saywell
      • Former Prime Ministers: William Lyon Mackenzie King, Paul Martin, Arthur Meighen and Lester B. Pearson and former Governor General Adrienne Clarkson.
      • Nobel laureates in Physics: Bertram Brockhouse and Arthur Schawlow
      • Nobel laureates in Chemistry: Walter Kohn and John C. Polanyi
      • Nobel Peace Prize recipients: Lester B. Pearson as well as Dr. James Orbinski, who accepted this Prize on behalf of Doctors without Borders

Learn More