Graduate Student Emergency Bursary

(Updated June 12, 2020 at 9:00am)

The Faculty of Arts & Science established a Graduate Student Emergency Bursary to help alleviate immediate financial stress that may result from the COVID-19 pandemic and related fallout on March 27, 2020. Effective Friday June 12, 2020, applications must be submitted directly to the graduate unit.

All currently registered graduate students in a Master’s (professional or research-stream) or PhD program, enrolled in an Arts & Science administered (Tri-campus) program are eligible. This includes graduate students affiliated with any of the UTM, UTSC, and St. George campuses in an A&S administered program. Students are eligible, whether they are domestic or international, and whether they are in a funded cohort or not.

Other Sources of Support

The Graduate Student Emergency Bursary is intended to provide immediate and short term financial relief based on need. While we understand that many graduate students are facing significant uncertainty and financial challenges, and that even more challenges loom in the future, we also recognize that no single program can address such a broad range of issues. Students in need of greater financial help may consider accessing the School of Graduate Studies’ Emergency Grant and Emergency Loan programs or the new Canada Emergency Response Benefit that will pay $2,000 a month to workers who have lost income due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Graduate students looking for information on government financial support programs may refer to PDF icon Government Financial Support During COVID-19 – A Guide for Graduate Students (PDF). This guide provides an overview of various programs and supports that have been announced by the Federal and Provincial (Ontario) governments in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The information in this document is subject to change. This document will be updated as new information becomes available, but please refer to the relevant government websites for the most up-to-date and complete information.

Application Process

The bursary application process is designed to facilitate quick decisions and payments via direct deposit. The application forms require only basic applicant information, such as name, student number, contact information and department or graduate unit. Provide a brief explanation of the reason for your request and indicate the amount requested. While documentation is not required at point of application, departments may follow up for more information with larger requests.  

Lower value requests for say, $200, can be approved quickly. Higher value requests, say of $500 or more, may take longer. Given the available funds and potential student need, bursaries more than $2,000 will be limited.

Once approved by your graduate unit, the Graduate Student Emergency Bursary will be paid via ACORN and will be direct deposited to your bank account. Approved bursaries will be processed by ACORN on Monday nights. After processing, it may take up to 5 business days for the funds to appear in your bank account, depending up your bank’s own procedures.

If you apply for a bursary, please ensure that your direct deposit information on ACORN is current.

Please find your department in the list below and click on the link to the form. For those departments with fillable PDF forms, please email the form to the contact person identified for your department. For those departments with online forms, it is recommended that you follow up with an email to the contact person indicating that you have submitted an online form.

As a final note, please understand that funds are limited. While we encourage all graduate students with short term financial need to apply for the bursary, we request that students who are able to manage without a bursary at this time refrain from submitting a request, so that we can accommodate those with greater need.

Departmental Contact - Graduate Student Emergency Bursary

Please submit an application to the contact person for your department.
For departments that do not have an online form, please complete the downloadable PDF and submit it via email.

Graduate Unit Form Contact Email Address
Art History PDF iconGSEB Online Form Vince Chan vince.chan@utoronto.ca
Anthropology ANT Online Form Natalia Krencil anthropology.graduate@utoronto.ca
Astronomy & Astrophysics PDF iconGSEB Online Form Margaret Meaney margaret.meaney@utoronto.ca
Cell & Systems Biology PDF iconGSEB Online Form Ian Buglass ian.buglass@utoronto.ca
Chemistry PDF iconGSEB Online Form Anna Liza Villavelez chem.grad@utoronto.ca
Cinema Studies PDF iconGSEB Online Form Tony Pi gradcinema.studies@utoronto.ca
Classics PDF iconGSEB Online Form S. Bernard /C. Bruun grad.classics@utoronto.ca
Comparative Literature PDF iconGSEB Online Form Aphrodite Gardner aphrodite.gardner@utoronto.ca
Computer Science CSC Online Form Pavi Chandrasegaram pavi.chandrasegaram@cs.toronto.edu
Criminology & Sociolegal PDF iconGSEB Online Form Jessica Chlebowski crim.grad@utoronto.ca
Drama PDF iconGSEB Online Form Elizabeth Sutherland graduate.drama@utoronto.ca
Earth Sciences PDF iconGSEB Online Form Scott Moore s.moore@utoronto.ca
East Asian Studies PDF iconGSEB Online Form Natasja VanderBerg natasja.vanderberg@utoronto.ca
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology PDF iconGSEB Online Form Helen Rodd helen.rodd@utoronto.ca
Economics PDF iconGSEB Online Form Colin Stewart colin.stewart@utoronto.ca
English PDF iconGSEB Online Form Tanuja Persaud tanuja.persaud@utoronto.ca
French PDF iconGSEB Online Form Monica Phonsavatdy french.gradcounsellor@utoronto.ca
Geography & Planning GGR Online Form Jessica Finlayson finlayson@geog.utoronto.ca
Germanic Languages & Literatures PDF iconGSEB Online Form Helena Juenger german.gradassistant@utoronto.ca
History HIS Online Form Vivian Hwang history.gradadmin@utoronto.ca
History & Philosophy of Sci & Tech PDF iconGSEB Online Form Brian Baigrie brian.baigrie@utoronto.ca
Industrial Relations  PDF iconGSEB Online Form Carol Canzano-Hamala c.canzano@utoronto.ca
Italian Studies PDF iconGSEB Online Form Liz Lourenco italian.admin@utoronto.ca
Linguistics PDF iconGSEB Online Form Jennifer McCallum linguistics@utoronto.ca
Mathematics GSEB Online Form Jemima Merisca jmerisca@math.utoronto.ca
Medieval Studies PDF iconGSEB Online Form Rhonda Marley gradadm.medieval@utoronto.ca
Munk - European, Russian & Euras. PDF iconGSEB Online Form Katia Malyuzhinets katia.malyuzhinets@utoronto.ca
Munk - Master of Global Affairs PDF iconGSEB Online Form Megan Ball mga@utoronto.ca
Munk - Masters of Public Policy PDF iconGSEB Online Form Petra Jory p.jory@utoronto.ca
Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations PDF iconGSEB Online Form Michael Godwin nmcgrad@utoronto.ca
Philosophy PDF iconGSEB Online Form Gurpreet Rattan graduate.phil@utoronto.ca
Physics PDF iconGSEB Online Form Krystyna Biel kbiel@physics.utoronto.ca
Political Science POL GSEB Online Form Carolynn Branton c.branton@utoronto.ca
Psychology PDF iconGSEB Online Form Kathleen Cook k.cook@utoronto.ca
Religion PDF iconGSEB Online Form Fereshteh Hashemi religion.grad@utoronto.ca
Slavic PDF iconGSEB Online Form Patrick Brock slavic@utoronto.ca
Sociology PDF iconGSEB Online Form Elysha Daya sociology.graduate@utoronto.ca
Spanish PDF iconGSEB Online Form Sara Solis sara.solis@utoronto.ca
Statistical Sciences PDF iconGSEB Online Form Christine Bulguryemez christine.bulguryemez@utoronto.ca
Women & Gender Studies PDF iconGSEB Online Form Marian Reed m.reed@utoronto.ca